ISLE OF ANGLESEY COUNTY COUNCIL	
COMMITTEE :	County Council
DATE:	6 March 2012
TITLE OF THE REPORT :	REVIEW OF PARLIAMENTARY CONSTITUENCIES IN WALES - INITIAL PROPOSALS BY THE BOUNDARY COMMISSION FOR WALES.
REPORT BY:	Chief Executive
PURPOSE OF REPORT :	Consultation.
ACTION :	To respond to the consultation.

Introduction:

The number of parliamentary constituencies in Wales is due to be reduced by a quarter from 40 to 30 - by the date of the next UK General Election, to be held on 7 May 2015. These changes are required by the *Parliamentary Voting Systems and Constituencies Act 2011* (- the 2011 Act) which received Royal Assent on 17 February 2011. Part 22 of the 2011 Act states that:

the total number of parliamentary constituencies in the UK should be reduced from 650 to 600 (502 seats in England, 16 in Northern Ireland, 52 in Scotland and **30 in Wales**); and that

the population size of each constituency should be within 5 per cent of the —UK electoral quota, which currently stands at 76,641.

(There are specified constituencies which are not subject to the operation of the UK electoral quota including the two constituencies on the Isle of Wight in England and the two constituencies in Scotland of Orkney and Shetland, and Na h-Eileanan an Iar)

In order to achieve this, the 2011 Act requires each of the four UK Boundary Commissions to conduct a general review of parliamentary constituencies in their area and submit final reports on the reviews to the UK Government before 1 October 2013. The review of parliamentary constituency boundaries in Wales is carried out by the **Boundary Commission for Wales** (- the Commission), who also review the boundaries of Assembly electoral regions. It is one of the four Boundary Commissions for the UK, along with the Boundary Commissions for England, Northern Ireland and Scotland.

In order to effect the requirements of the 2011 Act, the Commission must review the current parliamentary boundaries in Wales and submit a report to the UK Government by no later than 1 October 2013.

Initial proposals by the Boundary Commission for Wales were published for consultation on 11 January 2012 which included that a county constituency is created from the existing Ynys Môn County Council, the County of Conwy electoral divisions of Bryn and Pandy (Llanfairfechan, part) and from the County of Gwynedd the electoral divisions of Arllechwedd, Bethel, Deiniol, Deiniolen, Dewi, Garth, Gerlan, Glyder, Hendre, Hirael, Marchog, Menai (Bangor), Ogwen, Peniarwaun, Pentir, Tregarth & Mynydd Llandygai and Y Felinheli.

The constituency would have 74,453 electors which is 2.9% below the UKEQ of 76,641 electors per constituency. Ynys Môn alone cannot meet the statutory requirements in respect of size of electorate. It was therefore necessary to include in the proposed new constituency a significant number of additional electors from the mainland including the City of Bangor and the surrounding area

The suggested name for the constituency is Menai ac Ynys Môn.

Recommendation:

Representations on the initial proposals, and name for the constituency, are required by the 4 April 2012. The initial proposals relate solely to the parliamentary constituencies and do not affect the National Assembly for Wales constituencies, Unitary Authority, electoral division or community boundaries.

The Commission also stresses that it will not consider representation or comment on the number of parliamentary seats allocated to Wales or on the statutory electorate range. These have been set by Parliament and cannot be changed by the Commission.

1. Report prepared by: Alan Williams, Election Services.